top of page

A few tips for your travels

1, Take your Recipes with you!

After living abroad for over a month I realized I should start cooking more often to save up, otherwise you find yourself eating panino with Carrefour cheese and ham all the time and feel insanely hungry when someone passes you with a fresh pizza.

And you'll also find cooking really fun and rewarding, especially when you share it with friends!

2, Take some of your favourite everyday objects with you.

Living in a totally new city and appartment I always find it really comforting to eat from my bowl from home - it's a really special one I made at MadeByYou, the most adorable workshop in Budapest where I worked this summer - and drink tea from my mug. These are small rituals, which help me feel at home.

3, Go out!

There comes always the time when you wonder wether you should go out with your friends or stay at home instead: resting a bit, watching a movie. If you don't have anything in particular that keeps you at home, then get yourself together and GO! I always ended up having the best nights, for example the one at Lume - a local live jazz bar organized by university students with the best music and atmosphere!

4, Sports and nature

I am in Italy. I am getting fat. Too many good things to eat and of yourse I want to try all of them. But actually after lloking around a bit I realized there are a lot of ways to equalize: Milan for instance has beautiful parks to go running to, and nature is the best place to relaxe yourself and it's surprising how nice it is to get away from people and just see trees, water and have a bit of fresh air. After such a morning you really feel you did something nice!

5, Organize your time

After a while I felt an urge to do something, and I thought I was completely useless. It took me a while to realize it was only because I let my days flow. While abroad time passes extremely fast, so you'd better take good care of it. Using some spare time to make plans and a list of the things to be done, I am able to fulfill my days especially my weekends.

6, Do volunteering!

I think this is one of the best ways to get to know locals and some really nice people from the city you live in. I just joined a group with a friend of mine and we are already excited about the experiences with those kids and guys we'll work with.


Featured Posts
Bejegyzések hamarosan
Kövess minket!
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Még nincsenek címkék.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page